Jun 282023

The Rhode Island Self Storage lien law was amended on June 28, 2023. There are several important changes to clear up what were confusing aspects of the Statute. Specifically, the only notice that you have to prove personal service or certified mail service on the persons entitled to
receive notice is the second Default Notice. If you cannot prove personal or certified mail service of the second Default Notice, the advertising requirements have been reduced from three advertisements to one and the demand date for expiration of that notice in the advertisement has been reduced from 30 days to 20 days. Further, the law now recognizes legitimacy of online lien sales.

You will need to make certain changes to your lien sale procedures and notices. We encourage you to do this in consultation with your legal counsel.

Congratulations to the Rhode Island and National Self Storage Associations for making these significant changes to the Act.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>